We have compiled a list of frequently asked Code Compliance questions. Please review and contact us via
email at firstname.lastname@example.org or call 305-795-2207 Ext. 4862 if you have further questions or require clarification.
Code Compliance or Code Enforcement is responsible for ensuring the health, safety and welfare of the community through education and ensuring the enforcement of Village standards / codes are adhered.
Take prompt action to correct the violation(s). If you are not sure what needs to be corrected, or if you need additional time, it is important that you call the Code Compliance Officer to discuss your issues.
If the violation(s) is not corrected, you will be issued a Notice of Violation requiring additional time to correct the violation(s). If compliance has not been achieved after a re-inspection of the property, you will be served with a Notice of Hearing requiring your appearance before the Code Enforcement Board. The Code Enforcement Board can levy fines of up to $500.00 per day if the violation still exists. If the violation is irreparable or irreplaceable in nature, the Code Enforcement Board can levy a one-time fine of up $5,000.00. It is very important to contact the Code Compliance Officer assigned to the case before the case proceeds to this point.
The Code Enforcement Board will issue an Order based upon the testimony provided at the hearing and will direct that the violation(s) be corrected within a specified period of time. Fines and liens may be placed against a property as a result of any enforcement action whether or not the property owner is present at the hearing.
Yes. A lien will be recorded if the violation is not complied. The Code Enforcement Board will certify actual per day fines if the violation(s) is not corrected by the time specified in the Order at a separate penalty Hearing. These per day fines will continue to accrue until the violation is corrected and the Code Compliance Department is notified of the correction.
No. The lien will attach to all properties owned by the property owner in Miami-Dade County
Yes. Pursuant to Florida Statute Chapter 162, an appeal of a decision by the Code Enforcement Board must be filed to the Circuit Court within 30 days of the date of the Order.
No. Based on Florida Statute Chapter 162, an appeal is only to the Circuit Court.
Yes. Florida Statute Chapter 162 provides that liens which remain unpaid for a period of 3 months, may be foreclosed upon by the Village.